Vegan Wine – It’s Time

Photo from Frey Vinyards

By Emilio Gironda, The Vegetarian Resource Group Volunteer Coordinator

While wine contains mostly vegan friendly components – grapes, yeast, and (sometimes) sulfites – the processing of wine involves ingredients of concern to both vegetarians and vegans alike. Here are some links to various articles on the issues presented, a list of American Wineries than only sell Vegan Wines, and links to listings of Vegan-friendly Wines. Cheers!

From The VRG:

Why is Wine so Fined? Primer on non-vegan wine ingredients.
Guinness and Isinglass: Info on Isinglass – an unlabeled, non vegan, processing aid. 

From other sources:
Vegan Trend Raises Questions for Wine
What makes a wine vegan? Ask Decanter
Is Wine Vegetarian, Vegan or Neither?
Is Wine Vegan?

Links to Listings:
BeVeg: Toast Your next Meal with These Vegan Wine Brands
21 Black-Owned Wineries with Vegan Wines
Vegan Friendly Wine
The Tree Kisser: Vegan Wines You Can Find AND Afford!
Barnivore: Your Vegan Beer, Wine and Liquor Guide
Toast Your Next Meal With These Vegan Wine Brands
Vintage Roots: The Organic Wine People]
The Wonderful Wine
Vegan Wines: sourcing only the best vegan wines (vegan only)
Reverse Wine Snob
Organic Wine Exchange

Natural Merchants: Family Produced Family wines:
Scout and Cellar: Clean Crafted Wines
The Vegan Vine
The Organic Cellar

The contents of this posting, our website, and our other publications, including The Vegetarian Journal, are not intended to provide personal medical advice. Medical advice should be obtained from a qualified health professional. We often depend on product and ingredient information from company statements. It is impossible to be 100% sure about a statement, info can change, people have different views, and mistakes can be made. Please use your best judgment about whether a product is suitable for you. To be sure, do further research or confirmation on your own.